late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

6:14 p.m. | 2004-03-21
As Days Pass and Validation Is In Short Supply

I'm proud of myself. I got completely enamored with my code for a little while today and even coded up a little blockquote action for the template. As some of you may notice, the template gets all awry when I use italics, and I figured I could figure out how to do this on my own...and I did.

All of you gasping right now shush up, I asked permission first. Just like I did when I changed my font, added side bars, etc. It's still his design, so hush. Onto the true feelings of the day:

Last night was fabulous. I needed a night off, and for the most part I got it. I sat down with a nice bottle of wine, had some to drink, relaxed and just simply enjoyed myself. Let go if you will (not that my life isn't one huge ball of "let go" right now). I slept well, I went to the gym, I showered, I feel pretty, and in general, today has treated me quite nicely. The roomates still aren't home (and yes, it's 6pm) and I'm just loving it.

It allowed me to work on my own schedule, which is very important. I'll get into that in a second, though. As I was adding/updating/fixing things on the page (yay for not much to fix, just update or change) I ran across an entry. I remember one night running across this in one of my old stories. The ones that I never put on here because I actually like them. It goes as follows:

"And in a melancholy state she sat. Holding one hand in the other, resting them on her lap and staring out the window onto the world below. Tiny like ants, but not in that insignificant way. She longed to be with them, but she felt herself pulling back as her eyes wouldn't focus, staring off into nowhere as she did nothing but breathed and was interrupted by random thoughts now and then. That was her new life, unfocused images and thoughts--in fact, that was all life had ever been for her."

I just thought I came off rather poetic for once. And I enjoyed it. But being the productive person I am, this is what I managed to accomplish today:

-Re-organized the links page by adding reviews that I want done, the scores I got on reviews, adding favorite entries, and putting them in a new order all together.
-Added an AIM function, which makes me rather happy. I love my readers, and if they want to tell me they love me back, then I implore them.
-Got a *real* guestbook layout, not just my own Hex color code matching bouts
-Coded my own blockquotes.

I just thought in general it was a great day. I'm not going to lie about that. I miss my alone time. And more of it should follow.

Signing off--Lauren

ante / comment / post