late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

12:59 p.m. | 2005-06-23
Nothing Unusual

I woke up this morning in one sudden burst. I usually don't wake up groggy or incoherent. I usually just open my eyes and roll over to look at the clock. Because time makes me comfortable. Having the knowledge that such a logical system that never fails is right on my bedside table allows me to sleep at night.

But this morning I woke up with a gasp. I sucked a huge breath in like my body had forgotten to breathe for the last few minutes, my arms wrapped around a pillow, my fingers clutched into the softness.

My eyes shot open and I sat up in bed suddenly trying to get my heart rate and breathing back to normal.

It was almost like I had woken from a nightmare, but I don't have those. In fact I didn't even dream last night. Life is continuing on, my car will be totaled, and I'll either buy it back to fix or I'll get a newer car. I've just been sitting around waiting for the adjuster to call me to do estimates.

I think it's funny how I get treated after all the things I do for people.

ante / comment / post