late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

4:08 p.m. | 2005-03-23
Think Never Is Enough

There's this epiphany that most people reach at about 30-something when it suddenly hits them that the reason they're not fantastically happy is because they don't like the job they have, the things they own, and the vibe they put out. And then--they realize that it doesn't really matter. Nothing else really matters except...being happy. And that's when you start to talk about mid-life crises and other things.

Where people realize that they hate where they are and that all they want to do is things that make them happy. So they want to be an artist, do it!

From the outside I can sit there and say obviously not all of us are going to be able to do everything we want and survive (I'm sorry but I couldn't sell my art and live like I do). I mean my paintings are cool, sure, but they won't support my lifestyle.

Funny thing is I've had this realization before. I've realized that all I need to do is make myself happy and do what I want to do and be confident in it. In fact this has to be like the fourth time. But each time it hits me from another angle. Each time I take it in a little differently.

Today's realization: I love power. I love respect. I love responsibility.

I was given the keys today. I was given the chance to take inventory. I was given the highest place in the store. I know, I know, this is nothing. But the fact that Robert (a transfer who has been working for the company for two years) just assumed that I was a shift manager felt so good.

So now all I have to do is find someone willing to pay me to boss people around.

ante / comment / post