late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

8:22 p.m. | 2004-03-31
So That's How It Is

Ok. About yesterday. For those of you who went nutty on me--lordie I'm fine. I'm not going to die now in fact according to The Death Clock I'm not going to die until I'm 103. One hundred and three years people! I've got a good 85 left, so I ain't worried.

But what I wanted to discuss was something a little different. Upon getting another review and getting a response I wasn't sure I wanted (great score just...you can read it and see for yourself) I decided that I'd think on something a little more, so here I am--thinking on it.

When I speak--for the most part--my words come out in the order and with the same emphasis and meaning that I had originally wished for them.

I was once told, and then subsequently told by many other people that I write how I speak.

So if I write how I speak, and I feel that I speak well and how I want it to sound, how am I not writing up to that level?

Here's a thought: when I speak it's to advise. The kind of speaking I enjoy doing is when I talk with someone and I'm doing my best to get my opinion out. Not that I particularly enjoy hearing myself speak, I just delight in when I can get it out correctly.

Also...I'm starting to think that not only are these different mediums (one being spoken one being written) but they're put out there for completely different reasons. I don't want to have logs of, "well today we went to the dining hall and I had ice cream with sprinkles on it." I think that's terrible. I even hate the drama like stuff, "then Jen, who's dating Danny, went over to our lunch table and you should have seen the look on her face!"

That's crap. And I'm learning that. The more and more I look over other stuff...the more I realize that I might just maybe might have a little eloquency on the topic.

Who knows, right?

I can only hope what I've told myself is the truth. Because if I'm going to start having faith in myself--it has to be for a reason.

Signing off--Lauren

ante / comment / post