late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

11:59 pm | 2003-10-23
Joygasms That Last Centuries

Word of the Day for Thursday October 23, 2003

leitmotif LYT-moh-teef, noun:
1. In music drama, a marked melodic phrase or short passage which always accompanies the reappearance of a certain person, situation, abstract idea, or allusion in the course of the play; a sort of musical label.
2. A dominant and recurring theme.

I feel dirty changing the time. And I'll do it simply for the date purposes of the Word Of The Day, which if you haven't noticed, is something I've been putting in daily. I figure I'll do my part to the greater good and educate you people. (And NO educate is not said with a G like all you savages say it, and often has a T in it too, lordie) I won't go and rant on that, but things like that irk me, "their" versus "there" it's not a hard tast but people fuck it up ALL the time.

Tonight was what I like to call joygasmic, kids.

Joygasm; "joy-gazz-mmm"; Sudden feeling of intense well-being, (NOT brought on by narcotics).
See: "high on life"
"The sun, the birds, the grass, the-- ooh, joygasm!"

c/o Urban Dictionary

That site rocks by the way, but tonight was, in short, one HUGE, LONG, FUCKING HARD joygasm. To explain: I sat down with a group of about 10 people, which was soom weeded down to 8, moved onto the topic of politics, down to 6, and then onto the stuff we did in TOK (Theory of Knowledge, IB class) like the idea of "language" encompassing all, and by that point we had about 5 people talking. Colin and I bantered back and forth and I just LOVED watching the wheels turn, it was a joygasm people, watching people squirm when you make their boundaries bigger and then smaller and bigger again as they struggle to pull them back. It was great to watch. Why I mention Colin, though--he actually listened. I explained a semi-complicated theory about the idea of language, and he was the ONLY person who not only listened, but paused and thought, and didn't disagree right off the bat. In fact, he didn't disagree. Later he commented to me that I had brought up all these new facts and thoughts, and he like that, might have even thanked me. Being in the presence of smart people just, wait I take that back, in the presence of "intelligent" people, just makes me happy.

I was kinda upset when Jamie left us, but I mean she was tired, but it seemed like she didn't enjoy the talk, :(

Oh well, I deal, and right now I'm so pepped I don't want to sleep, but it sounds nice, but not, but...oy...type slower, read, and then go to sleep Lauren...

Be well people, please be well...

Signing Off--Lauren

ps, I haven't re-read let alone spell-checked my entries in ages, and I pride myself on that stuff, I just stopped, are they still holding up ok? Leave me a note, fill me in...

ante / comment / post