late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

7:26 p.m. | 2003-08-03
Conflict's the name of the game

I hate conflict. I avoid it at all costs. And that's not uncommon among us humans. Though, in a span of 24 hours I've managed to live it. Create it, try to stop it, avoid it. It hurts.

I went to Nat's yesterday, after work and all, and we sat around and talked and at one point his younger sister (the middle of the three, and admittedly my favorite) Maddie came in. She was bouncing around and asked if she could burn a CD on my burner, I told her of course she could and that Nat would gladly help her. He was upset to find it was Good Charlotte, and said no. I brushed it off as I knew he'd do it. She was bouncing around a bit, and a 10 year old girl, who wouldn't be. Nat's response was, "stop bouncing around," in a mean tone. My bad parenting kicked in and I responded as a perfect one would, 'Nat, did you tell her to stop a first time? Be nice first.' He kept working and I hear from him, "shut up." Excuse me? I wasn't too upset at this point, though not too happy. I said at this part, 'I think I have some jurisdiction here,' which I do, I mean his mom loves me, and who understands mental child abuse but me?! Seriously, his mother, Holly, loves me to death and thinks I'm one of the most responsible kids she knows. Well, to that he responds with a firmer, more annoyed, "shut up!"

I gave up at that point, I stood up, grabbed my purse, hugged Maddie, told Nat to have a great day and I walked out. I mean, I personally think I was justified, I don't deserve to be told to shut up, and this isn't a first time thing, he's said similar, more hurtful before. The 'you don't know anything' incident. That was a fun one. And I'm sick of being pushed around, I've done everything for that kid, every fricken thing.

Admittedly I'm going to miss him, though, I was thinking yesterday, why am I his friend? I mean, we rarely do anything. Ugh, it's not a fun thought.

But so today was good, I mean I picked up Danny the other day at a Texaco...it's a long story, I'll get there. But I got to work on time and all, and it's the day after Joey, a messed up co worker, called me dirty, and I'm working and all, and we're all ready to go and there isn't too much conflict until I guess Joey calls Nikki, one of the other hostesses, a dirty bitch. Whoa. A little immature ya think? And as silly as Nikki and I act sometimes, she was very adult about it, not wanting the drama. Ugh, then there came the confrontation over my to-go desk. They're upset, Joey is talking about something random, and Nikki's being quite logical, and even listens, and apologizes. Joey's too busy arguing to hear her apologize.

I walk up next to Joey and I say, 'the guests can here you, stop, it's not worth it, take it up with a manager later.' He looks at me and he's all 'stay out of this.' Well, I'm an employee and I'm not staying out, so I went and got a manager, he cooled off real fast. And we didn't even mention was he had called her. So, I guess Joey got a manager later and asked for a meeting, good idea, since he's nothing but rude to all of us.

So, I delt with all that today, along with everything going wrong. There was no silverware, Lauren, would you wrap silverware? The coke won't work, could you go check on that Lauren? Lauren, where's Lisa? around? well go get her. Lauren, call an all employee meeting. Lauren, go round all the employees up we have to give the managers their gifts. Lauren, no one's at the hostess station, go seat. Lauren...Lauren...Lauren....

AAAAAAAAAAAAA

Shut up! Everyone, shut up! Just, lordie, I can't do anything today, there's all this piddly shit to do today. Oh wait, what's that? Lauren, go print more to-go menus. Oy. I give up. I mowed the lawn for my mother, got her the thank you notes, got her the receipts I could find. And now I ran to the Wired Bean, to meet "Jessa." We all know I just sit here, but hell she doesn't.

I guess I should explain that Danny thing. He's a co worker, he's sweet and all, but I noticed the other day he wasn't so happy, I asked, and it turns out, through workplace gossip, I guess his brother is kicking him out of their apartment or something, and he's got no place, so I gave him my cell phone number. He called me at 9 in the morning, and couldn't describe what texaco he was at. It was scary and kinda sad. I picked him up and took him "home." His brother seemed to be ok, and he didn't get to work that day, but he did the next. Ordeals.

Oh, and on a slightly happier note, I got my roomates in the mail. I made them a three page document, haha I said document, all about me. I sent that off, so I'm excited to hear. Oh and by the way, it was roomateS. That's right, three girls, two person room. Fun.

More later, maybe...

ante / comment / post