late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

7:12 p.m. | 2004-01-22

THE MOMENTS

• When my dad came and woke David M and I up at 3 in the morning...his arm was around me.
• Gabe called me pudding the other day
• Will wrote me this e-mail that said he missed me, I laughed out loud, he makes me smile just thinking of him
• We watched a sail boat today kind of full of idiots crash into the pier, they were clueless, it was fun
• Kiki and I used to sit in her room and listen to one of 4 CD's: No Doubt (the first CD, I think), Mariah Carey (either Daydream or Music Box), and Bob Marley.
• Dress up and glamour shots!
• I once tried to heat up a pot of perfume and grass with a candle, it worked. When I came back the next day--the candle was still lit.
• I ate one of the three peaches off of my neighboors tree. My parents to this day think it was racoons.
• I microwaved a battery. Then I hid it in a cup that had little cowboy boots on it in the chimney in the backyard. It's probably still there.
• Gabe honestly told me that I'd changed his life.
• Colin's jaw dropped when I told him that I felt I had nothing to offer. Dropped.
• Hank loved me enough to make me promise to strive for what I wanted--no matter what.
• Colin told me I was a 'very pretty girl'
• "Look mom! I have bones in my legs!"
• Ian commented that no pretty girls liked him, then took it back, saying one pretty girl does--me.
• The connection I gained with Jess after going to the Denver Art Museum--and the shared affinity for 40 year old men with silver hair.
• The look on Colin's face when he mentioned a photo his father had found of the two of them--the smile was the most genuine thing I may have ever seen.
• Water spitting contests in yearbook
• Watching dad fill a coke cup, then asking if the space the ice took up was like 'mommy in the bathtub' and when she gets out there's no water left.
• Swimming in Cozumel under the restaurant--thinking I was a real fish.
• A drawing I made when I was younger--"Thank you for your loving care"
• Throwing a starfruit at Mary McCann's head.
• Being attacked by a squirrel in the log fort with Brian.
• Gabe's neighbor coming home at 4 am--and then getting his mail, 4 feet from my car.
• Will, Kelly, Gabe and I, plus Jake our waiter at IHOP (and can't forget the dolphin).
• Dolphin noises in Band, Calc, Art, etc.
• Playing with Barbies and Chad (his favorite was Skipper)
• Stealing the neighbor's cat. Oops.
• The night that Nat came over crying over Erin and I helped.
• "I hold my own hand!"
• Tyler mentioned that I looked nice the other day, Colin agreed, and when I got shy and told them to stop, they both went: "no, really"
• Sledding on the farm in Indiana behind the Jeep.
• After breaking my arm I looked up at my mom as the doctor said "yeah, mom, you better get her anything she wants!"--"can I have a game boy?"
• Chinese food (Mu Shu Chicken and General Tso's) and movies.
• Square pizza from Little Caeser's!
• Popsicles in the cold weather on the dam with Kelly and Will
• "Choco Taco," "Dildo Pie," and "Pussy Cake"
• Gabe's driving directions that led us to that random "string of lights"--I still don't think those were them
• 2am, Gabe looks over at me concerend: "Am I going home now?"
• Gabe, "Your Song," summer eve, under my window
• Lance telling me that Cailin, by Unwritten Law, reminded him of me "�'til that day you came along, my heart was empty like the soul was missing from my song, and I thought I'd loved a few, no one ever made me feel the way that you do"
• Hank telling me that "Passenger Seat" by Stephen Speaks was me to him�
• "We should use 'Haitian Fight Song' as our fight song instead of the crappy one we have." "Yeah."
• Throwing cookies at Tatsuya to ask him to some dance for Anne Byrne
• Mrs. Petersen's 'glass slippers'
• Mrs. Blaze's constant talk of dildos and laying on the desks in provocative positions
• Mr. Marshall's German voice
• Mr. Marshall's comment after Junior Induction that I had "done an amazing job, and that I made an amazing public speaker."
• 9th grade Greek versus Roman debates on architecture (a life or death kind of feeling) and I won
• XLR8R at Elitch's with Anna
• Bringing home Cody (my cat) and Petrie (my bird) on the same night. To have Cody eat him months later in the basement.
• The business plan for how to construct and how much it would cost to build a rat cage (on lined paper as I remember)
• Watching the Bodygaurd when I was incredibly sick, and my parents had to "preview" it to make sure it was safe
• Driving around county road 13 with Norah Jones and Diana Krall in my ears
• One word: "Exact-o-mint"
• The Ghirardelli cookies dad and I made for a demonstration�used a "dry cookie" recipe. Balls of dryness.
• The mammal song. (Does it have hair?)
• Montessori and the WEEKS of painting. (laureN)
• "Techno Dance Battle" in the frozen food aisle at the super market using the music from my cell phone.
• Will: "He looka like a man."
• A 5 pound can of peaches.

ante / comment / post