late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

6:10pm | 2003-10-25

THE CD REVIEWS

Rules:
I'm a music snob. I'll admit it. I know more about music than just about anyone I know. I listen to every genre. So, I decided I'd start to catalog all 500 or so CD's that I have and rate them so if you're interested you can see what I think. The one nice thing? I'm rather honest with these and quite unbiased. Their rating will score them on a scale of 1 � to 5 ��s. The following will factor into their score:

1) Music quality
2) Inventiveness as musicians
3) Album covers
4) Cost
5) The miscellaneous category

Contents:
A
Aerosmith, Young Lust: The Aerosmith Anthology
Alanis Morissette, Jagged Little Pill (Acoustic)
Ari Hest, Come Home
The Ataris, Anywhere But Here
Atmosphere, God Loves Ugly
B
Bad Astronaut, Houston We Have a Drinking Problem
Bare Naked Ladies, Stunt
Beastie Boys, Licensed To Ill
The Beatles, One
Ben Folds Five, Whatever And Forever Amen
Ben Harper, Fight For Your Mind
Ben Harper, Diamonds On The Inside
Ben Kweller, Sha Sha
Blackalicious, Blazing Arrow
The Black Eyed Peas, Elephunk
Blues Traveler, Four
Bob Marley & the Wailers, Legend
C
Cake, Fashion Nugget
Carmen McRae, Carmen McRae (The Diva Series)
Chronic Future, Lines In My Face
Counting Crows, August and Everything After
D
Damien Rice, O
Daniel Beddingfield, Gotta Get Thru This
De La Soul, Three Feet High and Rising
Diana Krall, Live in Paris
E
The Eagles, Best of (Volume II)
Eric Clapton, Unplugged
Evan and Jaron, Crazy for This Girl
F
Frank Sinatra, Gold
G
G. Love & The Special Sauce, Coast to Coast Motel
Green Day, Dookie
Green Day, Nimrod
H
Hootie and the Blowfish, Cracked Rear-View
I
Incubus, S.C.I.E.N.C.E.
J
Jack Johnson, Inaudible Melodies
James Brown, The Millennium Collection
James Taylor, The Best of James Taylor (WB)
Jason Mraz, Curbside Prophet
Jason Mraz, Live at Java Joe's
Jimmy Eat World, Bleed American ("The Middle")
John Mayer, Any Given Thursday
John Mayer, Room for Squares
Jonny Lang, Lie To Me
Joss Stone, Mind, Body, and Soul
The Juliana Theory, Love
Jurrasic 5, Quality Control
L
Less Than Jake, Goodbye Blue and White
Less Than Jake, Hello Rockview
Little-T & One Track Mike, Fome is Dape
Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Millennium Collection
M
Mae, Destination: Beautiful
Mariah Carey, Daydream
Maroon 5, Songs About Jane
The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Let's Face It
N
Norah Jones, Come Away With Me
O
OK, Go, OK, Go
On Second Thought, Don't Drive Angry
Ozomatli, Embrace the Chaos
P
Phantom Planet, The Guest
The Police, The Singles
The Presidents of the United States of America
Q
Queen, Greatest Hits, Volume I, II, & III
R
Rent, The Broadway Musical
The Rocket Summer, Calendar Days
The Rolling Stones, Fourty Licks
Rooney, Rooney
Ryan Adams, Gold
S
South Park, Mr. Hankey's Christmas Classics
Story Of The Year, Page Avenue
Sublime, Sublime
T
Tripside, Take You Home
W
The Wallflowers, Bringing Down the Horse
Weezer, Blue Album
Y
Yellowcard, One For The Kids

A


Aerosmith, Young Lust: The Aerosmith Anthology
For any die hard or even low level Aerosmith fan this CD seems to hit the spot. It will be one of those that you recognize 4 of the songs off of the two discs at first, BUT it will eventually give you a taste for Aerosmith in their truest form, which is good. Overall, it was a pretty expensive collection, but I don�t own any other mixes of their and the discs are cleverly titled �Right Disc� and �Left Disc.�
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Alanis Morissette, Jagged Little Pill (Acoustic)
I was ten when this album was first released. It's now been re-released as an acoustic set and damn is it good. Previously whiney vocals still hold their tone and their meaning, but don't grate on your ears like they used to. She's grown up, and in her voice you can see this reflective tone as she sings what she used to feel. You'll be surprised that you are familiar if not have 10 of the 12 tracks memorized. It was one of my first (in non acoustic form) CD purchases and I'll treasure it always.
Rated: � � � �

Ari Hest, Come Home
Like acoustic? Ari's your man. He's put out three CD's but has yet to find fame. Still, he's a great artist. He has some seriously intelligent lyrics, and has so much talent, but unfortunately I think he missed the "acoustic bandwagon." I still love him.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Ataris, Anywhere But Here
I like the Ataris, not their new stuff, but their old stuff. And this is about as old as you get. Plus it�s one of those GREAT 19-20 song albums where you feel like you really did get your money�s worth? I think it�s their first actual release, and you can find it with all sorts of different colored album covers and stuff, just a map generally, but the CD is purple, which takes guts. The CD has two songs that I like a lot, one of my favorites being �Boxcar.� Mainly because it contains one line that I love, �1, 2, 3, 4 who�s punk, what�s the score?� The CD is light punk, nothing too scary, or too screaming, but a good pick, and while not too easy to find, really cheap and generally used.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Atmosphere, God Loves Ugly
White underground rap at its best. They have talent like Blackalicious but are white. Which always means you're cooler, right? They sound black, so it doesn't make a difference to me, but this CD is one of their best. What I love most about them, though, is that they have put out 5 albums, and don't want mainstream radio play, they're happy with what they have. They rock.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

B


Bad Astronaut, Houston We Have a Drinking Problem
This band is small, and I heard about them through KCSU (the greatest radio station on the planet) and I really liked a specific song of theirs, and more I had heard. They�re kinda punk, but soft, not too hardcore, and this CD I�ve heard isn�t their best. The CD cover art kicks butt and it�s just so cute, but other than that, I haven�t fallen in love with the music on it, just the one song, I�ll still give it a listen, though, no worries it won�t be in vain.
Rated: � �

{ Back to the Top }

Bare Naked Ladies, Stunt
Bare Naked Ladies rock my world. Their unique and eclectic style is great, but on top of that, when I got this CD I immediately fell in love with every single track on the CD, I just love listening to it. It�s easy to sing along to, you can smile at the funny lyrics, and you can giggle as you try to keep up with singing �One Week.� The CD is such an integral part of my as well as other�s CD collections now that it�s not that expensive, pick it up kids�
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Beastie Boys, Licensed To Ill
This CD was purchased by me as soon as I could get my little under aged fingers on it. It was the first CD I had ever bought with that stinky �Parental Advisory� sticker on it so of course I was afraid of asking it for Christmas. So, I went to the store in the mall, somehow I managed to get a hold of it and shrieked as I carried it up to the guy and smiled as he scanned it for me. The Beastie Boys have a very unique style, and to me that�s important, they have this sort of punk/black rap/retard style. I mean they know in some cases they�re just being stupid, and that�s good. This CD has all of the songs of theirs that you�ll remember, �Girls,� �Paul Revere,� �Brass Monkey,� and of course �Fight For Your Right.� So it�s a great buy even just to jam out to if not learn the lyrics and be able to say, �hey I grew up with that kind of stuff!�
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Beatles, One
You know, I like the Beatles, but this CD got overplayed real fast. I don�t even put it in my mix anymore. It automatically makes me want to change the song, not that it�s bad. I just think I listened to it too much. So it wasn�t too expensive, has most of the hits on it, but�I don�t know, just, not my deal anymore. Well produced CD though, and they have all of the hits we youngin�s remember.
Rated: � �

{ Back to the Top }

Ben Folds Five, Whatever And Forever Amen
Ben Folds Five. Amazing. This guy has SERIOUS ego issues, but at the same time, shouldn�t he kinda be allowed to since his skills are amazing? The rest of the band (there�s three total, a drummer, a bassist, and Ben who plays piano and sings) has so much skill, a great bassist and an excellent drummer, but they get drowned out by Ben�s skills and his attitude. This CD isn�t their absolute best (it shows his ego pretty through and through) but there�s some great songs on this title like �Selfless, Cold, and Composed� which are very well written. His music includes nice thoughts, pretty lyrics some days, and great piano riffs. As far as cost goes on these CD�s�good luck finding the old stuff at Best Buy, try a local place that has used CD�s, they�re pretty abundant and cheap, so it�s worth it totally. This CD makes me happy through and through.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Ben Harper, Fight For Your Mind
Ben Harper is an amazing musician in and of himself. He�s also done a great job as a second voice on several underground bands, and he�s gotten very little recognition. You might know some of his songs like �Opression� or even �Burn One Down� (yes, that is a marijuana reference, kiddies). But his stuff is still good, some really nice guitar work and when his voice isn�t getting all funky, I really like the stuff. Other than that, his CD�s (this was back before he put out Diamonds On The Inside) were rather expensive, I think I paid $17 for this CD, which is cool and all, just�I mean I�m not sure if I loved it that much. But his stuff is good, that much I can give him, his CD prices have dropped, though, which is good for us consumers.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Ben Harper, Diamonds On The Inside
Admittedly, I bought this one because I enjoyed his first CD and I kept hearing songs of his I liked, but they weren�t on my CD that I already owned. This one�s his newest work, and it still has the general quality of �life intelligence� that Ben so poignantly brings out. Giving you deep thoughts on life and the such. The musical qualities on this CD, though, depart from that on his other works, which is a good and bad thing. If you listen close you can tell that track 2�s percussion is simply a box of rocks. He�s making a statement with this album, that I�m not sure I understand nor want to, good music, though. And since this is a later album, it�s cheaper.
Rated: � �

{ Back to the Top }

Ben Kweller, Sha Sha
�The butterflies are passive aggressive, and put their problems on the shelf.� Nothing says its more. Ben, one of the member of �The Bens� (the amazing set of people who happened to be named Ben and have great musical abilities, see also Ben Folds), has an amazing piece of work here. The lyrics, while significant, are a little odd and some people may not be able to pick them up meaning-wise�but they�re fun none the less. My favorite line: �Sex reminds her of eating spaghetti.� The album cover has Ben, toothbrush in mouth, and Fargo hat on head. It�s classic acoustic with a good male voice. Definitely worth checking out�and it�s cheap, check amazon.com for literally (LITERALLY) 89 cents. Buy it.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Blackalicious, Blazing Arrow
Out of all freestyling groups that I have serious respect for, Blackalish is one of the most amazing groups of musicians I�ve ever heard. They have talent beyond all other, and this album, a bit less sophisticated then their next to follow, is amazing, shows their progress, their musicianship and is overall just fun. It�s mixed so well that when played straight you can�t tell at all, and it flows so well. They�re along the same lines as Jurassic Five, but I have serious faith in these guys. Blackalish all the way. The CD isn�t cheap, more along the lines of $17 but, it�s TOTALLY worth it.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Black Eyed Peas, Elephunk
The Black Eyed Peas have always had a lot of respect in my mind. Nice philosophical and or political rap. This time they added a new female voice and went funk. Granted JT (aka Justin Timberlake) aids on one of the songs, I still enjoy the CD. There�s good melodies, good rhymes, just overall goodness. Some true funk style showing through�which shows that they know their music roots. It was bought at normal price, which has dropped a bit, but still about $13.00, it�s close to worth it, I did end up falling in love with some of the songs, but you have to be in the mood, as well as willing to listen to them singing about being retarded. Literally. The album features a song called �Let�s Get Retarded.� And I have to admit, it�s not too tasteful, but it is funny.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Blues Traveler, Four
Classic CD. I bought it about 4 years ago, normal price (say about $13) but now it�s available online for a lot less. It�s a great CD, and contains a whole bunch of good stuff you�ve heard, and quite a bit of good stuff that you may have never heard. One song actually makes me cry. Harmonicas, good vocals, and GREAT lyrics (plus good oldies like �run around� makes it one of my best CD�s.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Bob Marley & the Wailers, Legend
Um. So this is different from the vinyl version (aka album), for those of you who are familiar. This is...less electric. But I grew up on this CD. It was my summer jam, and on slow days when things are just fine, it still is. Everytime I turn it up I smell coconut and smile.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

C


Cake, Fashion Nugget
It has a pig on it. What more could you want? A better Cake CD? Doesn't exist. This is the Cake CD to own. Not their first (which is close to being better), but definitely the most catchy of their productions. It doesn't have "Short Skirt-Long Jacket" on it. It doesn't have "Sheep Go To Heaven, Goats Go To Hell" on it. But it has the best songs ever (including "The Distance") and lots of stuff that'll make you sound like a real Cake fan. Cost? Cheap. Get it in a used record store for so little it's not even funny (but if it's a real record store, they will look at you funny for not already owning this).
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Carmen McRae, Carmen McRae (The Diva Series)
First off, you need to know who she is. In order to enjoy this CD you need to be able to not only sing "When I Fall In Love," but know a few more by her--or at least know the style enough to like it. It's true early Jazz, before it went be-bop, after it went tin-pan alley, and when it was just right. Her voice has a white quality to it (though she's black), but is quite perfect for background music.
Rated: � �

{ Back to the Top }

Chronic Future, Lines In My Face
Good rap rock. I know, you thought it couldn't exist, but it does. With an electronic edge. I really thought these guys would get some major radio play because "Time and Time Again" is so fucking catchy. To this day I just start singing it and get confused when people don't know it. It was meant to be a hit, but I'm not sure it will. They're a small band out of Arizona, this being the latest of about 4 releases. It's a great night time CD and great one to just know to know a good band, a seriously good buy.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Counting Crows, August and Everything After
If I could fall in love with a voice, and a theory, and lyrics--it'd be the Counting Crows. If you're semi-familiar with them, make this your first CD purchase. It's sad, and happy, and so emotional all at once (and has Mister Jones on it, which everyone loves). He's full of slight intellectual side bars and tons of great harmonies which are incredibly simple to sing along to. In all reality, I pity those who don't have it in their collection.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

D


Damien Rice, O
He has talent. Why? He can ride the acoustic male voice trend while it's fading out. And he'll keep going. I've already heard "Volcano" on the radio and "Amie" too, even though those aren't my favorite songs at all. I love his soft tones and the way he makes me want to cry. That's why it's a 5, guys, buy it.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Daniel Beddingfield, Gotta Get Thru This
I�m not going to lie�I bought this on a whim. I heard the acoustic version of this song on our local radio station, and it was so cute and acoustic and touching. I liked it. The rest of the CD is brit pop�nothing more, really. He�s cute, but his music is loving and upbeat, and so wonderful. I like bip bopping around to it�especially when driving. You can scream along with it and smile at once.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

De La Soul, Three Feet High and Rising
So you like underground hip-hop, eh? Do you know who started it all? And who still is underground and rocks my personal (and should rock yours) casbah? That'd be De La. Meaning "of the soul," this band's got it. They freestyle, they're fun, and they're incredibly talented. If you want to call yourself knowledgeable, get yourself this 1989 gem.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Diana Krall, Live in Paris
I have all of her albums, and I'll sum them here. She's got her own brand of new jazz and it's gorgeous. She does softer versions of old classics and to be honest I fell in love with them because a certain boy loved them and said he'd marry her anyday. I thusly tried to be her. She's got a great tone and I picked this CD over the others because you cannot (until you hear the claps) tell it's live. You can't. It's beautiful and great background music.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

E


The Eagles, Best of (Volume II)
Is there really a Volume I? 'Cause every single time I've seen this CD, it's Volume II, and you know what? That'd be a great joke. So, this CD...well it's a classic. It's all of the radio hits, and a few more unknowns, but very vocally sound (like all Eagles songs). There's not a ton to say because The Eagles speak for themselves, it's classic rock, through and through. And it's generally available used.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Eric Clapton, Unplugged
I'd cry if someone didn't know who Eric Clapton was. Guitarist in Cream. Started with The Yardbirds. Loves Muddy Waters and anything blues based. He strayed as a youngin' (see Cream), but went back to his true roots soon after. Now his English accent fades as he sings and he sings one of the most famous songs today, "Layla." This CD holds one of the more popular versions of it (acoustic). The CD has his classics, some old ones we barely know, and just tons of musical talent. A true musician doesn't need amps--Eric proves that true.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Evan and Jaron, Crazy for This Girl
Remember that teenie bopper song, "Crazy for This Girl"? Yeah. I hate it too. But this CD, it shows some true interest. There's some great gems on it, hidden a little lower (incredibly sad ones, perfect for your average 14 year old girl who thinks she's just broken as a human). Feel like crying? Listen to "I Could Fall" and cry along. It's a well produced, but not overproduced CD. A happy impulse buy if you will.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

F


Frank Sinatra, Gold
Go to Best Buy. You know that crappy $7.99 compilation section? Even if it comes with two other CD's (it's Frank Sinatra with Strings and some other crappy CD), buy it. This CD is worth upwards of $15. It has all the classics, and they're remastered well, and everyone should love Frank at the core of their being.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

G


G. Love & The Special Sauce, Coast to Coast Motel
A cute CD. Got me started with him (the cutest boy ever), with his little south accent and slicked back hair. And it's just some great new country blues. My personal favorite is "Don't Kiss and Don't Tell," which just has a great theme. Blues vocals, harmonicas, and stell guitars, never could ask for more.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Green Day, Dookie
So as the story goes one day a 15 year old (Billie Joe), a 16 year old (Mike) and a 13 year old (Tr�) meet. Take three young musicians, form band, mix in a little rock, a little punk, and a musical revolution. What do you get? Green Day. One of my favorite bands of all time they embody punk-rock. You can sing the words--but they're all about rebellion and they have that great (punk) bass drum. So classic. Beyond that, each CD has its own value, this one's older and has hits like "Longview" and "Welcome to Paradise."
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Green Day, Nimrod
The best (in my opinion) of the Green Day CD's. It's before they got too popular (with Minority) but after they had some success. It also contains that classic song "Good Riddance" (which most refer to as "Time of Your Life"). Great music, great band, and some great performances on here.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

H


Hootie and the Blowfish, Cracked Rear-View
This CD was my childhood. It was one of my first CD purchases, but I lost it so my mother re-bought it for me later on. Incredibly cheap if found used--but so classic. It's remeniscant of that great mid-90's style that really never had a style but was just a mix of semi-grunge and sentimental rock. It's fabulous and totally worth a check.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

I


Incubus, S.C.I.E.N.C.E.
I bought this one late. Like way late. Like after "Make Yourself" came out. In fact, a friend had to get me into them. But there's one thing about Incubus you must know: they're so incredibly easy just to let pass by. The music sits in the background so well, and isn't distracting, but if you pay attention to it is completely moving. This is one of my favorite CD's and is more known for the song "Antigravity { Summer Love Song }."
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

J


Jack Johnson, Inaudible Melodies
Santa Monica Pier. That's where I first saw him and got a copy of this CD. He was sitting on the pier, on his amp, just chugging along. I totally bought it 'cause he was cute and I wanted his number, but alas, I got a great CD. If you ask me, his new release sucks major big stuff, but I love this CD and some of its songs remain my absolute favorites
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

James Brown, The Millennium Collection
This CD rocks. If you like that old kind of late Doo-Wop style, where you mix in new soul? This is the start of rock and roll people. It includes classics like �I Feel Good� and �Papa�s Got A Brand New Bag� and only cost, get this--$10! Get it NOW. Plus cute boys think you�re cool when they see it because you know the �real� music. Boys and good music? We win.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

James Taylor, The Best of James Taylor (WB)
Like James Taylor? Don't want to buy a whole bunch of his CD's or albums and pick your favorites? Or are you an old fan who perhaps actually grew up when he was popular? This CD fits. It's old stuff, newer stuff, known stuff, and unknown stuff. A whole bunch of those classics like "Fire and Rain" and my personal favorite "Your Smiling Face."
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Jason Mraz, Curside Prophet
He became famous for the song "The Remedy." He has won my heart. He has made me so happy--and I've come to find he's one of the best artists around. His style is semi-acoustic rock, but with a great sentimental fun side. This CD is produced in a studio, and has great hits, but those songs live (see below) are even better, still worth checking out.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Jason Mraz, Live and Java Joe's
Possibly my favorite CD's. And if you can get ahold of anything live by him--by all means do. Have the chance to see him? Do it! He skats, he sings, he plays, he dances, he smiles, and he makes me melt. He has an amazing talent for music--to just pick things up, and live he has this aura, where he closes his eyes and you just get it. This CD may be hard to find (because his popular songs are on the other CD) but I would pick buying this CD over the other.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Jimmy Eat World, Bleed American ("The Middle")
At the beginning they were known for their purpose--then they just became known as that band that sang "The Middle." And that the video had girls in their underwear. On the inside? They're a bunch of geeky guys who named their band after a younger brother's drawing of their guitarist eating the world (it was meant as an insult). What was meant to be fun turned into a career, and that's been huge for them. Their other release (Clarity) doesn't fit as a CD (the songs don't match) but this CD most definitely does and deserves more praise than it got.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

John Mayer, Any Given Thursday
Like John Mayer? But only know his popular songs? Pick it up. This is a 'great for studying or just playing in the background but not so much singing along' CD. It's well produced, and I loved it when I first got into John, but it faded once I remembered his old stuff (things like "Victoria" and especially "Comfortable") I strayed from it. Still a worthwhile CD if you like him.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

John Mayer, Room for Squares
Oh how I love this CD. It's before he got too popular, but not annoyingly so. There's some new songs, some old, and it's before he went too electronic. If you're looking for the songs that are played on the radio, this is where you'll find them.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Jonny Lang, Lie To Me
Like blues-guitarists/singers who are 13 and amazing? This is where it's at. Jonny (now 18) is totally cool. He's got great talent and has the most sorrowful and yet happy voice. He sounds so much older than he is, but is so incredibly talented. One thing: pick it up. It was big in 1998, but he never made a huge break-through, so there should be plenty of used CD's out there. (ps, funny note: if you have a yearbook from 1998 with one of those little "this is what's cool now" things that they put in there, he's on the third page).
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Joss Stone, Mind, Body, and Soul
I don't think I really need to justify her. The voice is just amazing. She's british, but she doesn't sing like a Brit (I mean that in the best way). She's put out quite a bit, this being one of my favorites (a mixture of blues vocals and funk back beats and horns), and has recently been focused on by the national media. Catch this year's 'Save the Music' concert? She sang "Spoiled," I cried.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Juliana Theory, Love
The Juliana Theory was not of my interest as I waited for The Ataris to come on stage. But from that concert I came to love Yellowcard as well as these guys. They're not popular. They don't have too much radio play, but everyone who loves them--loves them. They play a hard rock sound, with some punk, but a little jam band mixed in. It's pure talent. If you want to get into them, this is the CD to get into first.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Jurassic 5, Quality Control
Oh boy am I cool. My favorite J5 CD is their most popular one. Why? 'Cause every single tune is catchy. And I love rap some days. That should be enough. I love that they're talented and pretty much unfound.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

L


Less Than Jake, Goodbye Blue and White
It's punk. It's Ska. It's a good mix. Reminds me of some great bands like Reel Big Phish, but a little less ska-esque. This CD is for those who already love the band--it was put out quite recently as a goodbye to their tour-van and is a collection of old things/great covers ("We're Not Gonna Take It," "I Think I Love You," and Freezeframe" to name a few). It's a great CD for the covers along.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Less Than Jake, Hello Rockview
The most popular of the Less Than Jake collection and the closest you can get to seeing them live. I suggest this CD only if you already like them and/or are really into punk/ska. It's pretty raw.
Rated: � �

{ Back to the Top }

Little-T & One Track Mike, Fome is Dape
I heart funny rap. And this is one of those CD's. Two white guys singing about rap. Oh it's a hoot. It has one saving grace on it: "Wings." The song is amazing, written well, and totally not their style. But the rest of the CD proves that they're great artists, just interesting in their topics.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Millennium Collection
Who can resist $9.99 CD's with the best of the best? Let alone a band whose name has only y's as vowels? And even more songs like..."Sweet Home Alabama"? The 70's gave us Southern Rock. Southern Rock=Lynyrd Skynyrd. 'Nuff said.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

M


Mae, Destination: Beautiful
This is a band who's starting a new trend. They're what I'm starting to call "retro pop." They're a little harder edged (like Juliana Theory) but have some newer pop-esque tones (like their song "Summertime"). You may or may not have heard them on the radio, but they're listener worthy.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Mariah Carey, Daydream
What was every little girl's first CD? Mariah Carey. She's a generational thing. A girl with a 7 octave voice, really, need I say more?
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Maroon 5, Songs About Jane
This CD is starting to make me very upset. They were a very very good band until KISS FM decided to pick them up. Now they play two songs of theirs (one of them definitely not their best). The band mastered the use of silence and heavy drum beats while still sounding very pop-esque. They're retro pop, and even though the whole CD sounds really similar, I still love.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Let's Face It
I do love some ska. Especially early ska. I picked their last album because most people are the most familiar with it, and honestly I think it's their best produced (for a 1997 ska hating world). This CD won't produce more than one of the hits that you'll remember but it's terribly fun to put on and rock out to. It's not background music, it likes to take over, but people think you're super-hardcore cool when you listen to it in your car.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

N


Norah Jones, Come Away With Me
At first I saw her in competition with Diana Krall but I soon came to realize that this daughter of a famous Beatle helper had a much more country feel. Was much more laid back, and until her second CD I had a ton of respect for her. I'm still in love with this CD, just not the way she changed her songs in the second. This one's simple, basic, and good.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

O


OK, Go, OK, Go
This is by far the best summer CD I've ever heard. It's so retro-pop and happy I can't get over it. Reminds me of a surprisingly upbeat Rooney. I love their songs, (especially "Get Over It" and "You're So Damn Hot"). By rumor they're not fabulous live, but I love their songs so much I can't hold it against them.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

On Second Thought, Don't Drive Angry
KCSU (the greatest radio station on earth) introduced me to this old local Boulder band. It'll be hard as hell to get your hands on this CD if you're not in Colorado ('cause they're broken up and they're "local") but they have a talent I haven't heard in a long time. And there's even words of getting together again.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Ozomatli, Embrace the Chaos
Happy. Latin. Rap. Horns. It's a great mix. And by far the best live band I've ever seen. They're so wonderful I can't get over it. Their songs are incredibly liberal, but they're well done and by good musicians. A real band with real horns and real songs. It's so worth it.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

P


Phantom Planet, The Guest
Whoa. Retro-pop at its finest. You know them for the OC's theme song "California" I know them for better tunes like "Another Lonely Day," "Anthem," and this page's namesake: "Turn, Smile, Shift, Repeat." Pick up this CD if not any other one you can find, if you like slightly upbeat but semi mellow, it's yours.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Police, The Singles
This is actually an album. But an English album. But there has to be a comprable CD out there. Just find something with: "Roxeanne," "Don't Stand So Close To Me," "SOS," and "Message in a Bottle" at the very least. (ps, the 1986 versions of "Roxeanne" as well as "Don't Stand So Close To Me" aren't the originals, but I find them to be better).
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Presidents of the United States of America
Remember Lump? Or Peaches? This again fits into that wierd in between genre, but is fabulous in that respect. It's a sort of neuvo-rock, even though the band never really went anywhere.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Q


Queen, Greatest Hits, Volume I, II, & III
Oh my god. I love Queen. Like, I LOVE Queen. They were the one band that could play anything. They could do rock, they could do disco, they could do opera. I have to say little more than: if you aren't familar with Queen, get familiar. And if you love them like I do: you too rock my casbah.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

R


Rent, The Broadway Musical
If I had to fall in love with one gay, cross-dresser, who dies of aids it'd be Angel. And if I had to fall in love with one straight, talented, and pitiful film-maker it'd be Mark. And if I had to fall in love with one very masculine gay male with aids, it'd be Collins. In general, if I had to live one musical: it'd be this one. It's tragic, the story behind the stage and on the stage, but for those of you familiar with this: you should already own it, I just put it on as an homage.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Rocket Summer, Calendar Days
MMM. Slightly nasal voice. Happy upbeat songs. Getting slightly popular. Mmmhmm, you've got a winner here. It's retro-pop (I swear, the new trend) and it's fabulous. Great pop messages, but still a little deeper, "What We Hate, We Make." Just think about it. It's great.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

The Rolling Stones, Fourty Licks
Attention: buy this CD only if you actually want to know more about them or you already know all there is to know. This is not for beginning stoners. This is truly an amazing compilation, though. The first CD is the more popular stuff, but the second CD is all of their great more underground tunes. It rocks.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Rooney, Rooney
A good CD, but too early for its time. It's sparking a retro revolution, but it's not going to last, unfortunately. You will hear them on the radio soon (mark my words) but they won't stay, unfortunately. The album cover art is some of the coolest I've seen in years, but beyond that, they're a slight 80's throw back band, with really cool sunglasses. Seriously.
Rated: � �

{ Back to the Top }

Ryan Adams, Gold
This CD�well it�s interesting. It�s really written well, the lyrics are amazing. And he�s cute. But it�s kind of like an unpolished rock, where he�s trying to define his own style and be a punk and rock guy in the same moment. It�s�good. I like it, but it�s a bit raw for some people. There�s a new CD out by him, but it�s NOT his style on this CD, so if you happen to grab that one (go for it, it�s more polished, but I have yet to buy it) it�s not a big deal.
Rated: � �

{ Back to the Top }

S


South Park, Mr. Hankey's Christmas Classics
Oh how I love Colorado. And its quirky-ness. This is, by far, my favorite Christmas CD, and if you don't like Jesus or have a sense of humor, it's for you.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Story Of The Year, Page Avenue
When neuvo-punk got its start, Story was there (aka SOTY). They're classic, yet new, and are loved and adored by all of those east coast who like the more underground scene. They're a little heavy, but more emo than you'd think. I love the album cover (has the lead singer jumping on sand at the beach), and overall, their managers put them out well...whether or not that makes a good band...we're not sure.
Rated: � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Sublime, Sublime
Possibly the coolest CD cover ever. A giant tattoo of the band's name. It was a sad day when the music community lost this band, but this CD has the majority of their hits on it (with the exception of "Smoke Two Joints"). It's one of my favorite CD's but should only be listened to when in the right mood.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

T


Tripside, Take You Home
They're a local Long Island band. But you will hear about them soon. They're a...first off they're really good musicians, more than that, though, they have this great emo rock thing going on. Where they have hard hitting rhythms and lines, but softer vocals that I can sing along to. If you can, check around for them, their CD isn't available online (they don't even have a website!) but their really cool.
Rated: � � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

W


The Wallflowers, Bringing Down the Horse
A son of Bob Dylan? What could be hotter. I grew up with this CD and it's a standard in my collection. I know every single word and if you feel like a throw back to 1994, buy it.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Weezer, Blue Album
The kings of geek-rock. This is their sound before they went definitively emo-rock. But after they had tested their first album and the like. He's cute. His name is Rivers. I mean, come on people. You have to know Weezer to appretiate this album, but if you do buy it, it's worthy.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

Y


Yellowcard, One For the Kids
Before Yellowcard put out "Ocean Avenue" they were cool. Not to say they aren't cool now. But back then an electric violin in a punk song was cool. Now it's trite. The day after their concert I had "I heart electric violinists" written on my arm. It stayed for a week. Still, CD's are the past, and don't evolve, so this is still good music.
Rated: � � � �

{ Back to the Top }

ante / comment / post