late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

3:41 p.m. | 2005-05-24
I've Arrived; I'm Doing Fine; Quite a View From Above

Thirty-two days.

For the first two I found myself anxious and looking for distraction. For moments I would glance over to where I used to sit and my laptop used to lay and I'd grumble.

The next week was me trying to avoid even thinking about it and straining to not call to see if it was fixed. He was -- after all -- doing me a favor.

It was somewhere in the second week where I began to not care. I still get all my bills in paper and everyong who would need me has my phone number. When he'd mention its progress I'd honestly reply, 'yeah, whenever you get the chance.'

5 parties. 17 phone calls. 3 nights out. 47 boxes unpacked. 98 hours clocked. One new perspective gained.

I love this place. I love the way it looks and I love the way it feels. I love how people here care. I'm genuinely sorry for the abrupt nature of my leaving. And to the readers I'm sure I lost, I'm sorry I wasn't entertaining enough for you. To the loyals who I'm sure checked my page even weeks after I'd left, thank you.

I never intend to stop, just so you know, it doesn't feel taboo or silly or wrong. Shout it from the rooftops.

You've got to give the world the finger;
You've got to sing a happy song

ante / comment / post