late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

6:47 p.m. | 2005-04-14
Tremendous Yawps

It's days like these I think in ridiculous ways.

Have you ever opened that little package? You know what I'm talking about, the one called "desiccant silica gel," that comes in nearly every item you ever buy and it warns you bright on the little white contained not to eat it? I'm sure a majority of you have, at some point, poked a small hole inside to see what it did, a few more of you might have eaten it but I feel like a lot of us just toss them in the trash. I feel like I get 5 of them in each shoe box I get and I immediately throw them away just because they're small, annoying, and make for clutter.

But I've never really cared to know what they were for or what they did. I mean I had my assumptions (keeping said merchandise dry) but I never really gave it thought past that.

Now I have a small cup of gooey gelatin and a lot of empty little white packets around me. What caught my attention, though, was after I had done it I paused and thought. Certain things in our life become so regular that we really don't notice or recognize them anymore. It's one of those things that everyone knows; everyone recognizes these little white packets. What in today of all days made me open each packet to watch what was inside? What made me so curious?

It has been an interesting few days since I wrote anything and in all honesty a lot has happened. I've worked a lot, I've signed a lease, and I'm working on coming to some sort of common ground with many people. I've planned paintings, watched DVD's and laughed more than necessary. And it all felt good.

Not the things in particular, mind you, just my general status of being. It's good. I can feel the soft winds of summer blowing into my state and I know that past this next month of heat is a wondrous occurrence of daily afternoon downpours from the sky. Rain oh rain. I can't wait to sit in my backyard and be soaked, to have my roommates stare questioningly at me as I do it. I feel so much better than ever before, and I haven't done anything to prompt it. No epiphany. No realization. No new toy. Just me.

It's a terrific day, isn't it.

ante / comment / post