late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

4:05 p.m. | 2005-03-30
Don't Give Away the End

The world bursts at the seams with people ready to tell you you're not good enough. On occasion, some may be correct. But do not do their work for them. Seek any job; ask anyone out; pursue any goal. Don't take it personally when they say "no" -- they may not be smart enough to say "yes."

-Keith Olbermann

I was scared to come here and write that things were going well. Because they were. But I was still convinced (because of my fear of confronting this problem) that the situation was going to turn sour.

Well...it's not sour, there's just a bump in the road. Sara (said potential roommate 1) sent me a message telling me that she was meeting with her landlord so she'd have the "lo-down" by Friday. Awesome. Then she sends me another one. She told me that if the rent was lowered any that she'd be staying there. With her current roommate. So both I and new roomie 2 would be screwed.

Not that I'm being selfish but I had talked to them and we were planning on house hunting this weekend. I almost bought this kitchen table I was so sure of this whole deal.

Then this happens and I begin to be very desperate, searching online listing after online listing close to tears. But then I saw that quote again. It's on these cups..."the way I see it" cups. And I saw this one and just had to keep those words. I cut it out and had been saving it in my purse for a few weeks and today my fingers felt the edges of the card it was on.

I've just sucked it up. It doesn't make me happy that things might not work out. But they don't always, and I know that, I just don't like it. So I've decided the only way I can get around this is to find a deal that will give her the same cost, the same location near campus, and the one thing she can't find: a home for her dog.

Because everything is in my hands now. I know that she wouldn't mind living with me because she said that she'll keep searching too, whether or not it be wholeheartedly. But I want to know I've exhausted the market looking for what I need.

I want to know that I can do this. I want to know that I can make things ok. I want to know that I have control of the situation and things will be ok.

But at least I'm feeling better about it.

ante / comment / post