late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

5:30 p.m. | 2004-11-15
Pig-Tails or Not, I'm Nowhere Near 12

The following is an exact transcription of my conversation:

[my mother's phone rings, me calling her in her car]
Her: Hello?
Me: Sorry, I fell asleep
Her: Oh, I thought you were going over to play with the puppy
Me: I had planned to, but I accidentally fell asleep.
Her: But you TOLD me you were going over...
Me: I KNOW what I told you, but I fell asleep, I'm sorry I work a lot and don't sleep a ton!
Her: Whatever, I feel like I'm arguing with your father.
Me: What?! I am not my father. And you don't have to turn me into him.
Her: I'm not.
Me: Um, I'm pretty sure you just called me that. Just because I use logic doesn't mean you have to get upset.
Her: Whatever.
[I hear the phone click, she's hung up on me]

Why do I feel like I'm in high school? And why do I feel like I've done this a million times? I mean sure, when I was 14 I was supposed to hate her. I was supposed to be angry and I was supposed to scream and kick and fight back.

I apologized for sleeping and she got all over me. I mean sure, I prompted it a bit, but she went all nutso and then she hung up on me. I haven't had anyone hang up on me since junior high.

I guess I'm just sick of being more mature than my mother.

ante / comment / post