late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

3:33 p.m. | 2004-11-05
Strange The World Works Like This

I've felt oddly responsible the last few days. Between covering other people's shifts because they're sick, being one of the "star players" at work and asked to do a blend test for corporate. I wrote my checks for my bills and I made sure to sign up for my health insurance and I'm doing a deep clean of my apartment.

I drive politely. I have been playing Frank Sinatra rather than Taking Back Sunday. I smile. I hold doors. I've been quite appropriate.

Yet within 20 minutes of putting on a shirt I got reactions from about 10 people. My shirt is an homage to one of my favorite bands, Green Day, and it's not too tight, or too revealing, but it says "Who the fuck is Tre Cool?" It's a cute shirt, and if you didn't read it you wouldn't be offended. Yet one lady looked at me (as I got my paycheck) and said flat out, "I can't believe they let you wear that at work." I laughed and told her I wasn't working. She gave me a look that said 'sure.'

I then went to get some coffee and one lady had the nerve to walk back up to me and go, "You should be ashamed to wear that shirt [she was holding her toddler in her arms] and I'm glad my child can't read." I just kind of let my jaw drop. I'm 19. I'm allowed to have fun and I'm allowed to create a scene.

Apparantly society says no. Supposedly the only thing that speaks to other people about me is my clothing. It does not matter that I am responsible for my age. It does not matter that I am more intelligent than most adults I know. It doesn't matter who I am. But it matters what clothes I wear.

Personally. I think this is ridiculous. And I'm going to refuse to retire this shirt, just like I refused to retire my "Don't Be A Dick" T-shirt. I'm going to drive how I'd like to, I'm going to drink how I want to, and I'm going to react how I want to and I'm going to deal with my own consequences.

I'm a big girl. And if I want to wear silly t-shirts, I will. I am me, and you can't tell me what to do because I'm adult enough to decide and learn to deal with it.

So, please, get off my back, 'cause my shirt rocks.

ante / comment / post