late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

10:21 a.m. | 2004-09-12
As He Stands Over Me Singing Bad Music

Time.

It eats us all alive, do you realize that? At some point or another we dissapear into our own little lives, leave this thing behind and move on. Move on. Now, I don't see myself "moving on" anytime soon, but I'm watching as so many people around me do. I'm watching as they just dissapear and like that, are gone. Almost to the point that you don't notice them.

So, now that I have a little more time (time I should be spending cleaning up the pile of laundry behind me, or the mess of sheets in front of me, or the two trashbags that need to go out) I'll finish up that survey we took. Remember that?

So to clarify just a little, this yellow bracelet thing is the joining of The Lance Armstong Foundation and Nike to bring about cancer awareness. In the beginning (mid-May) Nike put out yellow bands in their Niketown stores and sold them for $1 retail. No tax. No holds bar, apparantly. Because soon after they became a trend. Now they've infiltrated small communities and are working their ways onto larger stages and towns.

Currently in Colorado about 1/8 people have them. They're planned to soon hit the rest of the US and become even more of a fashion trend, at which point I might ditch my band for signing a check every month.

But onto our results:

a) most people had heard of them, but only some had asked what they were about, and none actually knew (enough to be wearing one, or trying to get in contact with one).

b) most people planned on getting a band, or planned on donating, or felt bad because they didn't donate (still positive vibes).

c) It'd be quite illegal for Nike to handle funds illegally for this campaign: plus there would be nothing positive for them in it. 10 million dollars to them is nothing, pocketing that from a small charity does nothing--but gaining the respect of the masses for "being behind cancer" will get them millions more in sales. I'm not sure why they agreed to support this, and I hope that it's for the cause, not the bump in sales.

d) Most people didn't care. Unfortunately that's how I feel our election's going to be run. "I don't really care." Or worse: "Anybody But Bush." Fine, vote against Bush, I don't give a rats ass, but educate yourself enough to know that your vote is going where you want it. You people should have learned that last election if that's how you feel. Research. Check out voting records (not the politician's sites). See where they actually stand on the issue versus where they say they stand. You'll be surprised, I promise.

So our study came out rather uneventful, but I wore my band anyway. And I'll continue to do so unless stupid teenie boppers decide it's a "cool" thing. Ugh, cancer isn't cool. I need to go volunteer.

Give me purpose someone. Please.

ante / comment / post