late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

3:27 p.m. | 2004-09-08
I'm Gonna Love You, Like No One's Loved You

Slight issue. See, I don't know how many of you have heard about this (I thought it was the entire country until last night) but this crazy guy Lance Armstrong, has joined with Nike (ooooh, the man) to support cancer. Their goal was to raise $5 million to support cancer by selling $1 yellow bracelets. By my calculations, they've done that and much more. But that's just 'cause I see everyone around town with them on. Talking to a friend in LA the other night, though, and he says, "what the hell are those?"

So here's my problem: instead of waiting every day for the local shop to have some in stock, I ordered 10 online. They said 2 weeks shipping. It took a month and a half. That's right I was on top of this trend. But now I have them and I'm thinking, they're kind of trite, 'to be wearing what everyone else is,' ya know? But then my other self steps in and says 'when is cancer ever trite?'

They both have good opinions. So, here's what we do. We judge based on fashion first (duh).

So, you like? I always used to wear those newspaper rubber bands around my wrist, and I kinda like this. The second issue is, though, we're taking a poll.

a) Is there awareness of the Niketown/Lance Armstrong Foundation "Wear Yellow" campaign in your town/city/country?
b) Do you yourself support cancer awarness, by either wearing the band, donating, or volunteering?
c) Do you think Nike (a multi-billion dollar company who is known for exploiting its workers etc.) should be the big-business to support this kind of cause?
d) Does it bother you/make you think differently that neither George Bush nor John Kerry have chosen to wear this band?

So. Get your pencils out (there's no chads to impregnate here), leave me your comment with your answers, and we'll do some gross calculations! Whoa!

ante / comment / post