late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

1:24 p.m. | 2004-07-17
Er, I Suppose You Can Blame This One On Me Too

Why do I let other peoples obligations stress me out?

My father's weddin is tomorrow. Tomorrow. And who's in charge of just about everything? Me. And who's not organized at all? My father. And who am I working with? Incompetents.

Example 1: I'm working with Vero (short for Veronica, though her name is Claudia, who is my soon-to-be step sister) and I have to come over to her house to SHOW her how to wrap mints in little squares of fabric (that I've already cut) and then how to tie ribbons around them to close them (also already cut). See, fill the bag, pull the edges up, and tie a knot, can you tie a knot?

Like working with kindergartners. No, I lie, it's worse.

But I picked up the cake, and we have all the soda and all of the "snacks" for beforehand (but I think I might have to bring a dish, fuck that). Ps, this wedding is a potluck. Odd, eh?

But we have the plates and the napkins made (cute little daisies pinned on each one) and I just have to figure out who's bringing the cake and the pop up and who's actually going to be there to help me decorate. Beyond that, we're fine.

Well as fine as the Fry family can be.

So now I have to rip just about every CD my father owns because he wants me to DJ this "shindig" but wants his own music plus a mix of something "new" and "fun."

No joke he asked me to play Maroon 5.

*enters Wayne's World blurry 'what if' doo-da-la-doo cut*

'So that was Maroon 5's hit "Harder to Breathe" and now we're going to take it down a notch with the Gypsy King's "Escucha Me," hold on folks, we're in for a ride 'cause next up is "Brown Eyed Girl"' *end of cut*

Can't you see it? Me...DJ. Oy. Actually, I'm going to make it simple. Upload all of dad's music. Load it onto itunes, load it onto ipod, plug ipod into wall and plug into stereo, play "wedding mix." Shouldn't be hard, shouldn't run out of batteries, and if we have huge issues, pause, select new song, play. Easy as pie. FUCK.

I don't want to do this, I don't want to stress. I want to go into work today at 2 (yay for me and being asked to come in early) and I want to get this done with right now.

Please, sympathy, please.

Oh, and tell me my new shoes are kickin', they are aren't they?

Signing Off--Lauren

ante / comment / post