late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

10:01 p.m. | 2004-07-04
Happy Birthday, America

When it came to fireworks as a kid--I never liked anything that fancy.

I liked things simple. One color. And beautiful.

My father has always spent hundreds of dollars before the 4th on any kind of toy that would light up and make sparks.

I was always content with my box of gold sparklers.

Last year, in fact, that's all I had. A single box of 12 sparklers.

See, my favorite firework of all time is those ones that are barely gold, go up high, quietly, don't make much noise, but then fan out like palm trees. No sparkles. No colors. No fancy anything. Simple, gold, beautiful.

Tonight's fireworks ended with about 20 single, light gold, palm-tree-esque fireworks.

Methinks they were trying to please me.

Signing Off--Lauren

ante / comment / post