late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

10:01 a.m. | 2004-06-22
Ugh, Double Up, Ugh Ugh

*warning, the following entry contains complaints about old people. if you're "old" you can read on, maybe you'll actually sympathize with me.*

So...I like music. And when I drive on a sunny day, and I've been at work since 4:45 AM, I like it even more--preferably windows down. So basically, I have a really really kick ass stereo, and I play it loud; loud enough so that just about anyone within 40 feet is just about deafened. BUT--it's always nice, happy, peppy tunes. Cool oldies like "Ain't Too Proud to Beg" and "Man in The Mirror." Good stuff, ya know?

And if there's ever children around, I turn it down, wait until I'm in the clear, and turn it back up again--it's common courtesy. But not when you're 43.

So imagine me: I'm sitting here, hair up in a spikey pony tail, playing drums on my steering wheel, and singing along to the great peppy song of "Jessie's Girl." Rock on, right?

Not to the 40-something pulled up next to me. His windows are down (he has no music on) and he looks over and glares at me, raising one eye brow. I smile back. That's what I always do, I don't stop singing I smile, and sometimes wink. He refuses to smile in return. This people--is a social atrocity.

I politely turn down my radio, turn to my left and lean out my window a little bit and give the following speech:

"Now sir, correct me if I'm wrong. Somewhere around 1972 you were me. You were driving your 1967 Chevy, and you had your windows down, and you were playing Steve Miller's new hit "The Joker," no? And you too pissed off the old guy next to you, too pent up in his own worries to realize that you were just a care-free 18 year old who was loving life. So I'd be very appreciative if you not judge me based on my music selection, my car, or the volume I live my life at. Because you too made an old man scowl once. So let me have my summer, my care-free days, and my sunny warm glow."

The man blinks, the light turns green, and he doesn't really move. I smile, and drive on. At the next light I notice him refusing to look at me, his windows still down (if you don't like my music, roll them up kids). I make my right turn, he goes straight and I'm left feeling vindified of sorts.

My first thought is, "I just schooled an old man!" But then as I think about it more, I feel bad. I feel like I ruined something for him. And worse than that I have this feeling that he's been a big boy for a long time and hasn't had anyone scold him like that since his mom did when he was 14.

I'm not sure what to think of what I did. But I do know one thing: When I grow up, and I pull up next to an 18 year old with a blasting stereo (no matter what they're playing) I won't sing along, I won't dance, I'll simply look over, smile, and remember that I used to do the same thing.

If only.

Signing Off--Lauren

ps, as an afternote, I was perusing Kristin's livejournal, (one of my roomates last year) and on her music selection part it said: "shhh...lauren's sleeping!" I don't know why but that is the sweetest thing ever! She was totally one of the coolest people I've ever known, and I miss her so much. So K-diggity, if you've found this, thank you for that, I know it's simple, and small, but you're so caring of me and my odd ways. You rock my casbah, and you're going SO far in life.

ante / comment / post