late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

1:00 a.m. | 2004-06-15
Concerning Closet Elitists

I've figured it out.

It all makes sense now. I know why.

I'm an elitist.

Someone said that to me a long time ago, and it wasn't even someone I respected, and I didn't take it too seriously, but it finally makes sense. Let me see if I can prove it to you:

1) Given: I am an elitist (just work this one with me forwards here for a second)

2) That means that...I know more than you.

So when you tell me...that I'm, persay, beautiful, here's what happens. You tell me, my mind takes in and then judges; because I (the elitist) know more than this person, is this statement true? At this point my logic systems say no, and thus: because I am elitist and know more, I conclude that I am not beautiful.

Problem in the logic? Yes. Beauty is not logical, it is based on opinion alone. Problem with the problem in the logic? Yes. My logic works on an illogical logic system: it doesn't have to be right to be believed.

Therefore, I suppose, elitist or not, the illogical logic system prevails.

Funny part is...I am an elitist...and it sucks, 'cause I'm not allowed to act on it.

Signing Off--Lauren

ante / comment / post