late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

10:26 p.m. | 2004-02-22
I Will Not Disrespect

Word of the Day for Sunday February 22, 2004

gauche GOHSH, adjective:
Lacking social polish; tactless; awkward; clumsy.

1) Good word of the day.

2) I wasn't involved in WWII, no one I really knew was. Why does it touch me as so? If any of you haven't yet, I'd suggest picking up one of a few films, tonight's selection being Saving Private Ryan.

Others include, but are not limited to: The Thin Red Line, Enemy at the Gates, and especially Band of Brothers. The latter was a special for HBO done by Steven Spielberg that lasts hours, (separated by chapter, all of which are amazing).

So tonight's selection. The movie is done masterfully, the opening being an exact replica of the real D-Day landing (based off of old film). The rest of the movie plots along until the ending, another finale and bravo to American bravery. The movie manages to portray the war as a whole (the grotesque nature especially) but also the personal nature of it, winding in the tale of a band of men sent to find one. I don't particularly enjoy the personal tale, but I sure as hell cry when the old man does at the end.

I won't ruin it for you, and while yes the Allies do still win WWII that has nothing to do with this war. It's a personal victory of sorts, challenging the anti-war sentiment which is riddling our nation.

On that topic: I have a strange feeling in me of pride. When I see these things, and even when I think of it I am proud to share the same nation with men that will fight. On the same token, I don't think we should be fighting other people's wars, nor should we be starting them, and I won't serve in the forces myself. But for anyone who has, or is...I have a severe amount of pride and thankfulness just for you.

I've never passed a purple heart, if you remember we has a little chat about this. And I feel strongly, I won't. They have served me, and if there's another way in which I can serve them, I will. You gave, I didn't.

Proud to be an American, but I won't put a flag on my lawn--for I'm proud to be a part of a society, not this particular one alone, that values things like freedom and liberty and those odd concepts you can't quite put words to.

And so as you can hear those rich chords of your average war movie soundtrack, this time less average as it was written by John Williams and moves me to tears as I hear it, following my exit I ask that you, perhaps, take a moment to say 'while I may not agree with war--I will not forget or disrespect those who were a part of it, ever.'

Signing off--Lauren

ante / comment / post