late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

7:13 p.m. | 2004-01-22
For All Those Times I've Closed My Eyes and Say You, Honestly

Word of the Day for Thursday January 22, 2004

slaver SLAV-uhr; SLAY-vuhr, intransitive verb:
To slobber; to drool.

Huh. I added a whole amendment to yesterday's entry, and it was good too. All about fun stuff that happened last night/yesterday afternoon. Oh well, I guess I'll review:

1) Colin and I talked. No barbarians last night, though, but they are taped and we decided that weekend was the best time. Good for us.

2) Maddy, (Nat's little sister, aged 10, totally cool) wrote me a note. It's absolutely adorable, and if I feel the effort at some point I'll add some of the cute things she said to here, so you can really see how wonderful she is.

3) I managed to get Colin out in the hall studying with Cate, yay, but then he continued to talk to me, boo. And we (being you and me, reader, ugh) really need to have a little talk about this. As Jamie put it...'you have a 140 pound tumor, and his name is Colin.' Oh crap.

4) Tom called! Tom the cutest boy in the entire world, that moved away my junior year, but managed to stay in contact with me, and more than that he actually CALLED ME. Creepy. His girlfriend left him in October, sad, but he's doing better and dealing with the house payments, yay. I miss that kid a ton, more on him later. (oh, and on that, he had a new years party 4 hours from my grandmother's house. I could have gone. Damn it.)

5) I'm not sure there was a five.

Now, onto what I really wanted to talk about today: I didn't do one little thing for the last 6 years or so, and I think it honestly has caused me to lose a lot.

Now this is gonna sound silly but not writing the date on my notes/papers/being conscious of that has honestly made me lose time. I didn't notice the days go by. I'm almost 18 1/2 years old, right? That makes...6,752 days I've spent living. Well, let's make that a better estimate, shall we? I could have started to really focus on what day it was say when I was 10. That makes 8.5 years up until today. So about 3,102 days. That's three THOUSAND days, that's so many! I don't even think I could fathom that.

In the last week I've started writing the date on every page, just so I can get a hold of it, figure it out in my hand, and you know what? It feels like an eternity! And I love it.

More on that randomness at some later date. For now though, I am off to be me, doing things I do, and with a smile on my face. God I'm glad those so called "dark" days hath left. Woohoo.

Signing Off--Lauren

I was re-reading a whole bunch of crap recently, remembering the days when I could talk and speak and more than that write. And something came to me. I had this great idea, and now I'm going with it: My Moments Page". I never want to forget things, and this is a place where I feel I can work on that. Little things that happen, perhaps a date to accompany them, but more just reminders of a memory.

ante / comment / post