late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

12:51 p.m. | 2004-01-21
Politicians Make Me Orgasm, You?

Word of the Day for Wednesday January 21, 2004

pantheon PAN-thee-on; -uhn, noun:
1. A temple dedicated to all the gods; especially (capitalized), the building so called at Rome.
2. The collective gods of a people; as, a goddess of the Greek pantheon.
3. A public building commemorating and dedicated to the famous
dead of a nation.
4. A group of highly esteemed
persons.

The Barbarian nights will continue tonight with a double showing. Woot! We missed last night's show (State of the Union was much more pressing and way less fun to watch on tape) so we taped the History Channel and watched Georgie talk about all sorts of stuff.

A little side note on political views: I was raised in a house that has typically "republican" views, though in no way are we registered. My dad voted Libretarian last year my mom...well she's a liberal all the way (but simply because of a passion left from the Vietnam era; we don't ask). None the less my father's political views seemed to be adopted by me, though I have a rather caring and gentle side to me so I can lean left. But in no way am I moderate. No way. I agree with the NRA, guns don't kill people, and making some poor farmer get this check and making him go through all this hassle just to own one gun is silly. Not for my part of the nation anyway. If I wanted a gun--illegally--I could easily get one, laws or not. Education. Eh, that's a toughy, and all I know is what we're doing isn't working. But you can't blame our government for the fact that all of the people that are now 20-30 (born in 1973-1983) are these horrid lazy people. It's not the government's fault that they don't feel like getting off their asses and teaching well.

Less politics, makes my life less heated. Heh. I really don't have strong views, though, I swear. So Kristin, Jackie, Tyler, Colin and I all watched the State of the Union (Jenn and Tanya joined us for parts) but we rather enjoyed ourselves. Many liberals+Colin+Whatever I am=interesting conversation. Colin stood up many times and clapped meanwhile nodding his head and going: "Yes Bushie, good job Bushie, that's what I like to hear." He also proceeded to smack his forehead with every mention of the "G" word (or God as some people say). Oy.

None the less, yesterday was good, I started reading a book for pleasure (which if we remember was on my list of things I want to do/be). So I'm on my way, and I'm excited, and that makes me happy. Today, though? This will prove to be interesting...

Jamie and I are having a baby. Lemme correct that, Jamie's aunt is having a baby and if it comes soon, we're both gonna go see it. Eww. Baby. And it's at...DUN DUN DUN Beth Israel! Ugh, not that place again.

I'll add more later, about barbarians and such...but for now, have a great day!

ante / comment / post