late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

9:57 a.m. | 2004-01-20
If I Had To Pick One--It'd Be You

Word of the Day for Tuesday January 20, 2004

galvanic gal-VAN-ik, adjective:
Of, pertaining to, or producing a direct current of electricity, especially when produced chemically.

I will say one thing people.

BARBARIANS!

Yes that's right people. The ever present History Channel is presenting all things barbarian. Now when I say barbarian, yes I'm talking about your Huns, and your Mongols and the like...but even more that that--they're doing Hitler, and Stalin, and Caligula, and I'm just so excited! Colin and I sat on the floor last night entranced with the TV for two hours. It was wonderful. Finally programming I can watch.

Onto real stuff though. Saturday night was fun for all of us here in 208 and the surrounding area. Nick, Jamie's ex-boyfriend, came over for...well reasons I won't really mention for the sheer fact that I know why he was here, and I for once wasn't very pleased. None the less, latex is nowhere near as strong as we would have guessed and thus began the saga. First of all, a big thanks goes out to www.getthepill.com simply because we had ourselves in a pretty little pickle on Sunday. Planned Parenthood isn't open on Sundays, and the next day was MLK Jr. day so chances were they wouldn't be open then either. Oh joy. I wasn't thrilled (as you could guess) that our only option was to go to a website and trust them with my credit card number and Jamie's health.

They came through though, Doctor Wise (from Florida) called her in a prescription for Levonorgestrel or Plan B �. So now we're just dealing with the nausea and the like.

Other than that--we've lost Ian to the dark side. Whether it be "Donner's" apartment or "Nick's" apartment...we don't know these people and I kid you not, but Ian left on Friday night at about 9 pm and then returned to us at about 8 pm Monday night. No he didn't come back for clothes. Shower? We're still deciding whether or not he did. All we know is he was gone a long time. And supposedly spooned with an unnamed female. Oh well.

More good news though. I sat down the other night with my nice little Microsoft Word � program open and started to type. It's coming back--slowly. And it's much more adult. Which is scary, and I hope I haven't ruined things with the editor lady. Seems I had to sit still while other people's worlds fell to pieces and then picked my own up. Patience. Patience.

Other random happenings this weekend included: Gabe calling, and then asking if I wanted to meet his friend (odd thing, but not unusual) hands the phone over and I go, "hi, name's Lauren" Connie replies with a giggle, "what are you talking about?" So I played 'hot potato' of sorts with them and the phone, Gabe and I talking on and off about real things, Connie and I babbling about paper cranes.

No purpose in that, I guess. No purpose in any of it, in fact. "And in a melancholy state she sat. Holding one hand in the other, resting them on her lap and staring out the window onto the world below. Tiny like ants, but not in that insignificant way. She longed to be with them, but she felt herself pulling back as her eyes wouldn't focus, staring off into nowhere as she did nothing but breathed and was interrupted by random thoughts now and then. That was her new life, unfocused images and thoughts--in fact, that was all life had ever been for her."

Signing Off�Lauren

ante / comment / post