late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

9:51 p.m. | 2004-01-17
Breasts Don't Make Me Pretty!

Word of the Day for Saturday January 17, 2004

timorous TIM-uhr-uhs, adjective:
1. Full of apprehensiveness; timid; fearful.
2. Indicating, or caused by, fear.

1: Are you wearing make-up?
2: *bashful look*
1: No, are you? You look really pretty today
2: Yes. I had a date today...that's why I went to the art museum *continued bashful look*
1: Oh. Who'd you go with?
2: A friend of mine...

In sitaution one we see Colin=1: and Lauren (me)= 2:. I wasn't even sure how to take that. Ugh. Onto situation two:

1: Are you wearing make-up?
2: Ugh, why does this have to be such a big deal?
1: No! It's just that you look good and...
2: *pushes off conversation and hides face*

Don't ask my why I do that. I don't take compliments well. Yesterday Megan told me 4 times in a row that I looked pretty and all I did was blush, and this time I managed to eek out a 'thank you.' But that's not average for me. Usually I just blush and if I had the ability to speak I'd say 'naw' or 'shut up.' I guess it was a mixture of being brought up thinking that it was uncouth to flaunt things like being "pretty" and to accept compliments in the appropriate manner...that and the fact that I was never told I was attractive.

So I wear make-up. People. This is nothing new. In the morning this is my facial routine: lotion (Boston makes me dry), concealer/base/foundation/whatever it's called under my eyes (because I get dark circles from allergies), and mascara. That's it. I mean--I used to think that I didn't need it, that I was pretty enough without it...the last few days have proved the opposite. Last night the comment was made by Jamie, and Darren, and Colin AGAIN. Ugh, people! Why is it such a big deal that I want to be pretty for a few seconds of my life?! Do I really look that bad?

Jamie wears make-up when we go out, like she did last night, and NO ONE commented on it. Why is it that when I put it on that it changes? Ugh.

Do me a favor, would you? Check out these sexy pictures. Then, post a comment as to whether or not you think I need make-up. In these pictures I am wearing very little make-up. Unfortunately I realized right before the party that I didn't have time--like, not even 5 minutes. And the first picture (oy, sorry for all of those BLINDED by the giant size--I was too lazy to upload a new one) I already apologize for. But hey, you should get the details quite well!

Thanks in advance to those who put their words in...harsh advice is welcome...as always.

Signing Off--Lauren

ante / comment / post