late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

12:09 p.m. | 2004-01-13
E-mails Always Make Me Smile

Word of the Day for Tuesday January 13, 2004

tergiversation tuhr-jiv-uhr-SAY-shuhn, noun:
1. The act of practicing evasion or of being deliberately ambiguous.
2. The act of abandoning a party or cause.

Goodbye Girl

All your life you've waited for love to come and stay
And now that I have found you, you must not slip away
I know it's hard believin' the words you've heard before
But darlin' you must trust them just once more...
'cause baby
Goodbye doesn't mean forever
Let me tell you goodbye doesn't mean we'll never be together again
If you wake up and I'm not there,
I won't be long away
'Cause the things you do my Goodbye Girl
Will bring me back to you.

I know you've been taken, afraid to hurt again
You fight the love you feel for me
instead of givin' in
But I can wait forever,
a-helpin' you to see
That I was meant for you and you for me
...so remember...

Goodbye doesn't mean forever
Let me tell you goodbye doesn't mean we'll never be together again
Though we may be so far apart
you still will have my heart
So forget your past my Goodbye Girl
'Cause now you're home at last.

Talk about sappy love song crap. But hey, it was a good song (c/o David Gates), it became a good play (c/o Neil Simon), and now it's an even better song (c/o Hootie and The Blowfish). They've always been one of my favorite bands (Let Her Cry makes me cry almost every time). And supposedly they've put out a new demo with this on it, and it's also gonna be on a movie re-make of the Neil Simon play. Neato.

Not that I'll pay attention or watch it or whatever, I'm not a huge Simon fan, but I have to admit that I love this song. Strangely enough Colin "I'm too good for emo" Moriarty is the one who sent it to me. Good taste on that kid some days.

I think it's rather nice to see his succumb to crap like that though, I mean he's always admitted that chords hold power, but you should have seen the look in his eyes when Darius (the lead singer of HaTBF) holds this one note. I swear, he would crumble if you touched him. Refreshing to see him in that state, especially since he never really denied it, just pretended to and acted like it.

On a bit lighter side there's not too much that's going on right now, honestly. A lot of little crap that needs to be accomplished (but none of it's that annoying kind that you always push off until the last second--at least not yet).

On a deeper plane though...
I got another e-mail, from the whole January 9th episode. Alice, as she explains, is 32 years old and apparently knows everything in life:

MoreToKnow,
I think your confused. I dont think that u know whats going on in your life and that u want to make since of it all. Its only ligocal this way. Why else would u be so unhappy? I think itss stupid to act like this and i think u should stop. I have 3 kids and I get along fine...it isnt easy but I still do it! Take some advice and stop worrying about finding out who u are. Ok, i just thought i'd say that, I have to go work now.

Alice

Um. Should I be nice enough to let that stuff slide? I think not! Ok, first of all...any standard e-mail (even hotmail kids!) has spell check. USE IT. Granted I don't check every entry, I try my best to spell well--and write well too. I'll let her out of that one.

U. 2 hot 4 U. That's all I can think of. We speak English people, why does that stop the second we get onto a computer?

Ligocal. I'm going to assume you mean "logical," Alice. Which in that case, I'm still not sure I know what logical is...in your opinion.

Now lastly, congrats on having 3 children. Good job, I hope you're happy. I hope that your job goes well and I hope that things are good for you. BUT. I welcome all criticism. I really do, and by saying this I know I open myself up--but if you can critique me well--I'll be rather delighted and surprised. But if you're going to e-mail me with this crap...I'll take the address off and stop answering e-mails.

My reply (instead of e-mail form, which just said 'see website'):

Dear Alice,
I'm happy that life is good for you. I'm happy that you may sleep at night. I though, cannot. And whatever differs us as people, be it as absurd as it may be, does not give you the right to tell me what I'm going through, where I am, or where I'll be. You're not me, won't be me, and never have seen some of the things I've seen. There's assumption in that, yes, but I'm going to assume that it's true. I wish nothing but the best for you, but please if you feel the need to berate, use a dictionary.

This will be the death of our society people. The absolute death. But I'll fight it every step of the way. Tooth and nail.

Signing Off�Lauren

ante / comment / post