late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

11:07 p.m. | 2006-07-27
Taj Mahal Sang "My Corina"

Love I get so lost, sometimes days pass and this emptiness fills my heart. When I want to run away I drive off in my car but whichever way I go I come back to the place you are.

All my instincts, they return and the grand facade, so soon will burn without a noise, without my pride I reach out from the inside.

In your eyes the light the heat in your eyes. I am complete in your eyes. I see the doorway to a thousand churches in your eyes the resolution of all the fruitless searches in your eyes. I see the light and the heat in your eyes. Oh, I want to be that complete. I want to touch the light the heat I see in your eyes

Love, I don't like to see so much pain so much wasted and this moment keeps slipping away. I get so tired of working so hard for our survival. I look to the time with you to keep me awake and alive.

And all my instincts, they return and the grand facade, so soon will burn without a noise, without my pride I reach out from the inside.

I was 13 and it was 7th grade. We were exploring poetry and how music was, in fact, poetry. We were instructed to pick a song and get the lyrics (this was pre-google, by the way) and read them aloud, and then play the song. I tossed it over and over in my head. Do I act sophisticated and do Evita? Do I play it crazy and do a country song? What should I do? This song came on the radio and I remembered, in one moment, the movie. I picked this song on a whim and read it aloud to the class...

But 8 years later I still get a little teary eyed when I hear it. I still get happy and love the movie to death. I still mock kids who don't know the "thing about Cusack holding the boom box over his head." It's beautiful. I did some questionable thing the other night -- but I enjoyed them. I felt good about them and I was ok with it. I feel good about it.

ante / comment / post