late nights and loud fights
it's all just a blur

4:41 p.m. | 2003-11-29
A Run Down Of A Night Enjoyed

Word of the Day for Saturday November 29, 2003

patina PAT-n-uh; puh-TEEN-uh, noun:
1. The color or incrustation which age gives to works of art;especially, the green rust which covers ancient bronzes,coins, and medals.
2. The sheen on any surface, produced by age and use.
3. An appearance or aura produced by habit, practice, or use.
4. A superficial layer or exterior.

Big explanation. Small word. Ok, so, there was this party, and it was like whoa. Actually, we'll start back off at Thursday (ps Jame's I called you back, hope you got my message I love you sooooo much).

Thursday:
Got up a little late, mosied around, managed to shave my legs (go lauren!) and then headed to my dad's Thanksgiving at 2. So I get there, all these crazy latinos running around, eating with us, confusing. Anyway, so we do that and we decided to play a game, yay, except we decided to play a word game. Bad choice. Half the people there didn't speak english. The other half just stared. Oh. My. So my dad got quite frustrated when they weren't playing it right and thus causing him to lose. Oh well I say, 'I, uh, have to go.' Here I run off.

I managed to get home in time to get new drivers for a zip drive and to get all of my old filed onto my new computer, yay, which includes the writing the crazy lady from New York wanted, and that also means I can post more stories than just mister Gabe, stuff that's actually been published and all. That was nice.

Then was the kicker, we went to Dick and Becky's...right at 6 the food started, I stuffed myself with the best food I have EVER tasted and I couldn't stop eating the pie, holy crap, this pie people was a-fucking-mazing. Then--this is what rocks my socks, I fell asleep in this big arm chair, and no one bothered me, talked about me or anything, I slept for a while, but when I woke up it was like 9:30 and my phone was ringing, vibrating of course. I picked it up and it was, of all people, Jarod. Now, I haven't explained Jarod to you guys, I started this after him.

Jarod is possibly one of the most amazing guys I've ever met. I met him as I was "studying" for finals at the Wired Bean on campus. He left me his number and we started to hang out, things got pretty far, I mean I was starting to dig him, but he refused to do anything with me, or even get attached to me without promise of my best effort at a relationship. I was leaving in 3 months. That, plus Lauren's past=no relationship over distance, no no no. Well, he didn't like that, and I can't blame him, but we stopped hanging out together. But, I still love him, he's so wonderful and I've seriously almost regretted (and I never regret) stopping whatever I had. So he calls me...

We got together that night at the park, sat on our swings in the snow and just smiled and talked, and enjoyed ourselves and it was just--fabulous. I miss his wit, his humor, and most of all his intelligence. We ended up back at his place for a while, he played the guitar (*cue me melting*) and we just got along so well. I slept for a little while in his arms, and for a while he layed against me as I rubbed his back and told him how much I missed him. I did. We both agreed though that nothing could happen, perhaps this summer it could, but not now.

Friday:
Got up a little early, about 9, went over to my dad's and started to set up for the shindig. We went shopping, got stuff ready and right on time at 7 things got going. Connie and Jess helped set up and make signs a little, but for the most part it was pretty much right on time and smooth. We had plenty of food (ha, as if with me that's EVER a concern), and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. I don't know. They really seemed happy to see each other, and that was the best thing of all, seeing all of these old people. I hugged Gilsdorf at the end of the night like 30 times...I just...I couldn't get enough of that boy, so sweet, so adorable, so smart. Not sure what I'm doing with myself, but oh well. Most everyone came, a few people didn't, which made me sad, but still. Overall, good times.

So that leaves us at today, which will of course, be updated later. Along with those other stories and the like, so excited.

ante / comment / post